Why CRYOLIFE?

Cryolife is the first cord blood bank in Hong Kong to adopt state-of-the-art processing and storage systems, the same types used by the world’s most prestigious medical universities and government institutes.

An Experienced Pioneer

Since its establishment in 1996, CRYOLIFE has been providing Hong Kong with Stem Cells Cryopreservation Services using international-standard medical technology. Our practice has three fundamental steps: collecting, processing and cryopreserving stem cells from umbilical cord blood.

With the rapid development of bioscience and increasing potential of stem cell therapies in the field of regenerative medicine, Cryolife has remained on the forefront by extending its banking services to umbilical cord tissue and placenta.

Cryolife’s vision is to provide quality cryopreservation services for Umbilical Cord Blood at easily affordable prices, and options for Cord Tissue and Placenta for all new-born babies with focus on critical illness therapies plus future regenerative medicine and cellular therapies for three generations within the family.

The first AABB Accreditation in Hong Kong

CRYOLIFE strives to provide the highest quality cord blood banking services and actively seeks to attain internationally recognized accreditations to certify our high standards in cord blood processing, quality management, control and inspection.

CRYOLIFE is the only private cord blood bank in Hong Kong to have attained AABB accreditation for 14 consecutive years. The accreditation certifies laboratory safety, day-to-day management, crisis management and contingency measures for emergencies. This assures other transplant medical centres that cord blood processed and stored with Cryolife meets international standard.

The ONLY Cord Blood Storage Bank in Hong Kong to share its Cell Count Viability Report openly.

To ensure the visible quality of cord blood stem cell storages, CRYOLIFE conducts comprehensive quality assurance (QA) viability tests twice a year. All results are tabulated and are published openly in CRYOLIFE’s Newsletter and Website for our clients and the public to show that all stem cells from umbilical specimen stored with Cryolife are still active and viable for future therapies.

Quality Assurance Report

Committed to delivering the highest service quality, CRYOLIFE conducts comprehensive quality assurance test on its stored stem cell test twice a year. Samples are randomly selected from different storage tanks with different storage years, to test the viability recovery rate and Colony Forming Unit (CFU). Process of testing and results are randomly audited and verified by third party auditors from ISO, HK Q-Mark and AABB. The quality assurance test shall be performed before distribution to ensure the quality and stability of the sample. Overall, the quality test results have been encouraging.

MORE

State-of-the-art Equipment

To ensure a successful rate for future cord blood transplantation, it is critical that stem cells extracted from the cord blood are of the best quality and quantity. For efficient and maximum stem cells extraction, CRYOLIFE uses AXP AutoXpress ™ Platform, which is an enclosed system – preventing infection and contamination – that automatically and efficiently recovers 98.7% of Mononuclear Cells and 97% of Total Nucleated Cells from the cord blood during processing.

For long term stem cell banking, CRYOLIFE uses the MVE cryogenic storage system which utilizes vaporized liquid nitrogen as the freezing medium. This system is also adopted by the majority of global private cord blood banks in order to totally eliminate risk of cross contamination between samples submerged in liquid freezing medium within the same storage tanks.

MORE

Local Cases, World Class Treatments

On September 29, 2009, a seven-year-old girl was the first cerebral palsy patient in Hong Kong to use her own cord blood, stored in Cryolife, for autologous transplant at Duke University in the United States. CRYOLIFE’s specialist team assisted in the transportation of her umbilical cord blood sample from Hong Kong to the United States, ensuring that the specimen was optimally preserved during the process. When the girl’s cord blood sample arrived at Duke University campus in Durham, North Carolina, it was inspected, thawed, and rigorously tested. The medical team in Duke University was amazed to find that the cord blood stem cells’ viability far exceeded international standards.

Service Commitments

The cord blood will be picked up within 12 hours after the notification from the customer
Cord blood processing and storage to be completed within 48 hours after baby was born
Volume report of cord blood collected shall be verbally delivered within 2 working days after baby’s birth
Test and Storage Reports on the suitability of cryopreservation, approved by our Medical Director, shall be sent to customers within 2 months of baby’s birth
Biannually, conducts randomly selected samples on cord blood viability test as part of QA protocols with results being openly published on website
Laboratory team works 365 days a year on cord blood processing and storages
Professional courier team on constant standby for cord blood samples pick up from the hospital of birth. All calls from expectant parents are answered immediately by our friendly team.
Our comprehensive refund policy ensures the safety and storage standards of all our stem cells.

为何选择CRYOLIFE?

Cryolife是香港首家脐带血库,选用全球着名医科大学及政府机构所采用的国际级处理和储存系统。

经验丰富,业界先驱

自1996年成立以来,CRYOLIFE一直为香港提供采用国际级医疗科技的干细胞低温储存服务。服务包括三个基本步骤:脐血干细胞的收集丶处理和低温储存。

随着生物科学的快速发展和干细胞疗法在再生医学领域的潜力不断增加,Cryolife一直走在行业前沿,将其储存服务扩展到脐带组织和胎盘。

Cryolife的愿景是以易於负担的价格提供优质的脐血低温储存服务,并为所有新生儿提供脐带组织和胎盘选择,重点关注危重病治疗和未来的再生医学和细胞疗法,供家庭三代人使用。

香港首家获得美国血库协会(AABB)国际认证

CRYOLIFE力求提供最优质的脐血储存服务,积极获得多项国际认可的认证,引证脐带血处理丶质量管理丶检验技术均达到高标准。

CRYOLIFE是香港唯一连续14年获得美国血库协会(AABB)认证的私人脐血库。获取认证包括实验室安全丶日常管理丶危机处理及突发事件应变措施等。这向其他移植医疗中心保证,在Cryolife处理和储存的脐血符合国际标准。

全港唯一公开细胞活跃率报告。

为确保脐带血干细胞储存的品质,CRYOLIFE每年进行两次全面的品质检定活性检测。所有结果会以表格形式公开发表在CRYOLIFE的通讯和网站上,向客户和公众展示所有储存在Cryolife的脐带血标本的干细胞仍然活跃,可用於未来治疗。

品质检定报告

CRYOLIFE致力於提供最高的服务品质,每年两次对其储存的干细胞测试进行全面的品质检定。从不同储存年份的储存缸内随机抽取样本,检测其存活率和细胞聚落形成单位(CFU)。测试过程和结果由ISO丶HK Q-Mark和AABB的第三方审核机构进行随机审核和验证。品质检定应在干细胞发放前进行,以确保样本的品质和稳定性。总体而言,品质测试结果令人鼓舞。

更多

国际级设备

为确保未来脐血移植的成功率,保证从脐血中提取最佳状态和数量的干细胞至关重要。为了有效和最大限度地提取干细胞,CRYOLIFE采用自动化细胞处理系统(AXP AutoXpress™ Platform),密闭式处理能防止感染,在处理过程中自动丶高效地从脐血中回收98.7%的单核细胞和97%的总核细胞。

对於长期的干细胞库,CRYOLIFE配备全球大多数私人脐血库采用的MVE冷冻储存系统,以气态液氮作为冷冻媒介,杜绝同一储存缸内浸泡在液体冷冻媒介中的样本之间发生交叉感染。

更多

本港案例,世界一流治疗

2009年9月29日,一名七岁女孩在美国杜克大学(Duke University)接受储存於Cryolife的自身脐血移植,成为香港首位接受脐血移植的大脑麻痹病人。CRYOLIFE的专业运送团队协助脐血运送,将脐血样本从香港空运往美国,确保脐血样本在运送期间受到最佳的保护。女孩的脐血样本抵达北卡罗来纳州德罕(Durham)的杜克大学校园後,随即被检查丶解冻再进行严格测试。杜克大学的医疗团队惊讶发现脐血内含干细胞的存活量远高於国际标准。

服务承诺

客户通知後12小时内收取脐血
婴儿出生48小时内完成脐血处理及储存程序
婴儿出生2个工作天内提供口头脐血量报告。
婴儿出生2个月内向客户提交冷冻合适性的化验及储存报告,报告由Cryolife的医务总监查核批准
作为品质保证协议的一环,每半年随机抽取样本进行脐血存活量检测,检测结果在网上公布
每年365日实验室专人当值处理及储存脐血
365日24小时专业运送人员候命收取医院婴儿脐血样本。客服人员(而非机器人)即时接听所有准父母打来的收取脐血电话。
Our comprehensive refund policy ensures the safety and storage standards of all our stem cells.