Why should you Store?

Since the first successful case of umbilical cord blood transplant more than 30 years ago, the medical community has been studying, researching, and conducting clinical trials to find innovative medical solutions using umbilical cord blood to save countless patients at crucial times. With bioscience’s rapid advancement, there is now enormous potential for regenerative medicine using stem cells from umbilical cord blood. Stem cells extracted from umbilical cord blood have an ability called self-renewal, meaning they can differentiate itself to make more stem cells. These are known as Hematopoietic Stem Cells (HSCs) which can produce blood and immune system cells that have significant medical values.

A History of Cord Blood

The world’s first case of cord blood transplant was performed in 1988. Matthew Farrow suffered from Fanconi anemia, a rare but serious blood disorder that prevents bone marrow from making enough new blood cells. When he was only 5 years old, he received an allogenic cord blood transplant at Hôpital Saint-Louis, Paris, France in October 1988. The cord blood came from his newly borne younger sister. After successful transplantation, Matthew is now a healthy adult, not only a husband and a father, but he also works in a cord blood bank, sharing his story of how cord blood saved his life.

Six Reasons to Save

Save time and money
During medical emergencies, time is of the essence. Time otherwise lost when searching for a direct HLA matched for transplantation can be saved if your child’s cord blood is being cryopreserved for such medical uncertainties. Upon thawing, your baby’s stem cells can be cultivated or used immediately for medical therapy.

Three generations of health assured
There have been successful clinical trials using stem cells to treat illnesses such as Parkinson’s, Alzheimer’s, heart disease, arthritis, cancer, etc. This offers new hope not only for the baby’s parents, but grandparents too.


Development of regenerative medicine
STEM cell research projects has been extended to regenerative medicine and anti-aging treatment. At the current high rate of investments in Bioscience R&D, we can expect to see significant breakthroughs in the development of umbilical cord blood use.

The purest stem cells
Immediate extraction of cord blood at birth provides the largest number of active and viable stem cells, which in turn improves the success rate of transplantation and stem cell therapies..

No matching needed
The largest concern with stem cell donations is usually Graft versus host disease (GvHD), a condition where the donated cells attack the recipient body. With stem cells from the same individual, it is a 100% match, eliminating the chance of rejection and complication.

High degree of convergence
Patients receiving their own cord blood stem cells or those by siblings or parents face a lower chance of rejection and GvHD.

Clinical Trials Today,
Stem Cell Therapies Tomorrow

Stem cells from cord blood are often called “universal cells” in the medical community. Scientists over the last twenty years have proven that stem cells can treat as many as 113 diseases and regenerative treatments, including cancers, blood, innate immune system disorders and metabolic disorders. Major breakthroughs have also been made in the fields of lung, skin, and nervous system diseases.

MORE

What Gives Life Can Save Lives Too

The umbilical cord is a connection between the baby’s stomach and the placenta in the mother’s womb during pregnancy. Towards the final stages of pregnancy, the placenta passes antibodies through the umbilical cord to the baby. This enhances the baby’s immunity against infections for about three months after birth.

Cord blood is rich in hematopoietic stem cells (HSC), which assist the fetus’s generation of blood (red blood cells, platelets and etc.) and enhance the immune system (lymphocytes, immune cells, etc.). Your baby’s cord blood stem cells are a perfect genetic match for your newborn, and they have a high probability of being a suitable match for siblings and parents, reducing and even eliminating the risk of Graft-versus-host disease (GvHD) or transplant rejection. Saving your baby’s cord blood provides your family with the best chance of survival, recovery, and a renewed quality of life when facing a life-threatening disease or condition.

Comparing Cure to Cure

Items Umbilical Cord Blood Umbilical Cord Tissue

Source

Umbilical cord blood is the excess blood from the cord and/or the placenta after the baby is born.

The cord tissue from umbilical cord is also a rich source of valuable stem cells.

Stem cell types

Stem cells derived from cord blood are called hematopoietic stem cells (HSCs). They are the building blocks of the body’s blood and immune systems.

Stem cells from cord tissues are known as mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs). They have shown great potential in the fields of regenerative medicine, tissue engineering and gene therapy.

Clinical trial application and indications

Cord blood’s Hematopoietic Stem Cells (HSCs) can repair and replace blood cells previously damaged by diseases, chemotherapy or other medical conditions, as well as treat blood, immune, metabolic diseases.

Mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs) from cord tissues can differentiate into a variety of cell types, including bone, cartilage, muscle, nerve and others to treat tissues or organs degenerated by diseases. Cord tissue stem cells have the enormous opportunity to make regenerative medicine a life-saving reality.

Process: Painless, Safe and Reliable

1. Collection
Within 12 hours after being notified by the expectant parents, our specialized and dedicated courier team will retrieve the umbilical specimens from the hospital of birth with a temperature control incubator and send it to our laboratory for processing and long term cryopreservation.

2. Identity Verification:
The umbilical specimen collected shall be verified again upon reaching Cryolife’s laboratory to ensure accurate identify of the specimen. A unique ID code shall be assigned to the sample as part of privacy protection.

3. Sample Retrieval
Before processing, a small portion of cord blood sample, together with the maternal blood, will be retrieved for stipulated tests for infectious diseases and blood grouping. This is part of AABB’s requirements to ensure that the stored stem cells are fit for future transplants and therapies.

4. Automated Processing:
The red blood cells and plasma from the cord blood sample shall be removed to harvest the cord blood stem cells. This process is performed by AXP (AutoXpressTM Platform), an advance automated cell recovery system which is functionally enclosed and sterile, ensuring contamination control and the efficient recovery of the mononuclear cells (MNCs) from the cord blood.

5. Controlled-Rate Freezing and Storage:
After processing, cryoprotectant will be added to the processed cord blood unit and it will then be ready for long term cryopreservation. To ensure long term stem cell’s quality and viability, the unit will undergo a slow freezing process at a controlled rate until it reaches -90’C before it is transferred to a vapourised phase liquid nitrogen tank at -185C or lower for long term storage. AABB’s guideline is to store at -150C or lower.

6. On-going Quality Assurance:
CRYOLIFE conducts a biannual (twice a year) quality assurance program to ensure the quality of cryopreserved cord blood units in each storage tank is being monitored. The QA testing process and the results are randomly audited and verified by third party auditors from ISO, HK Q-Mark plus AABB. All results are tabulated and are openly published in CRYOLIFE’s Newsletter and Website.

为何要存储脐带血?

脐带血首宗成功移植案例已过去逾30年,医学界一直在研究及进行临床试验,期待找到使用脐带血的创新医疗解决方案,从而在关键时刻拯救无数患者。随着生物科学的飞速发展,目前脐带血干细胞在再生医学上显示出巨大的潜力。从脐带血中提取的干细胞具有自我再生的能力,意即它们可以自我分化,造出更多的干细胞。这些干细胞被称为造血干细胞(HSC),可以产生具有重要医学价值的血液及免疫系统细胞。

脐带血的历史

全球脐带血首宗移植案例发生於1988年。当时患有再生不良性贫血病的Matthew Farrow只有5岁,这种疾病令他的身体无法造出足够的血细胞。他在法国巴黎Hôpital Saint-Louis接受脐带血移植,脐带血来自当时刚出生的妹妹,手术十分顺行。Matthew现已健康地长大成人,不仅结婚生子,还於一所脐血库工作,继续乐於分享脐带血拯救他生命的故事。

储存脐带血的六大原因

节省时间及金钱
在紧急医疗情况下,时间即生命。不需要浪费时间寻找配对。宝宝的干细胞解冻後,可以立即培养并用於治疗。

一家三代健康保障

目前已有使用干细胞治疗帕金森症丶老年痴呆症丶心脏病丶关节炎丶癌症等疾病的成功临床试验,为宝宝的父母,甚至祖父母点亮新希望。


再生医学的发展
干细胞研究项目已扩展至再生医学和抗衰老治疗。目前对生物科学研发的投资很高,我们预期脐带血的用途将有突破性的发展。

最纯正的干细胞的自我分化潜力最大
即时抽取自初生婴儿的脐带血,当中含有大量活跃和年轻的干细胞,可提高移植的成功率。

自体细胞,移植前无须配对

干细胞捐赠的最大担忧通常是出现移植物抗宿主病(GvHD),即捐赠细胞攻击宿主。而自体干细胞则完全脗合,不会出现排斥和并发症。

吻合度高
接受自体脐带血干细胞的患者或者是其兄弟姐妹或父母,发生排斥和GvHD的概率较低。

干细胞治疗和临床试验

从脐带血提取的干细胞在医学界被称为「万用细胞」。20年来,科学家已证明干细胞可治疗多达113种疾病和用於再生治疗,包括癌症丶血液丶先天性免疫系统不全及代谢异常疾病等。在肺部疾病丶皮肤疾病和神经系统疾病等领域也取得了重大突破。

更多

了解脐带组织与脐带血

脐带是怀孕期间婴儿的胃和母亲子宫中的胎盘之间的连接。在怀孕的最後阶段,胎盘将抗体通过脐带传递给婴儿。这增强了婴儿出生後三个月的免疫力。

脐带血富含造血干细胞(HSC),可以帮助胎儿生成血液(红血球丶血小板等),增强免疫系统(淋巴细胞丶免疫细胞等)。您宝宝的脐带血干细胞是您以後新生宝宝的理想基因配对,它们很可能成为兄弟姐妹和父母的理想配对,从而降低甚至消除移植物抗宿主病(GvHD)或移植排斥的风险。保存宝宝的脐带血,可为您的家庭提供最好的生存丶康复机会,并在面临危及生命的疾病或状况时恢复生命质量。

不同治疗的比较

项目 脐带血 脐带组织

来源

脐带血是婴儿出生後从脐带和胎盘流出的多馀血液。

脐带的脐带组织也是有价值的干细胞的丰富来源。

干细胞类型

来源於脐带血的干细胞被称为造血干细胞(HSC)。它们是人体血液和免疫系统的组成部分。

来自脐带组织的干细胞被称为间充质干细胞(MSC)。它们在再生医学丶组织工程和基因治疗领域显示出巨大潜力。

临床试验应用及适应证

脐带血的造血干细胞(HSC)可以修复和替换先前因疾病丶化疗或其他医疗条件而受损的血细胞,并可以治疗血液丶免疫丶代谢性疾病。

来自脐带组织的间充质干细胞(MSC)可以分化为多种细胞类型,包括骨胳丶软骨丶肌肉丶神经等,以治疗因疾病而退化的组织或器官。脐带组织干细胞有巨大的机会使再生医学拯救生命成为现实。

过程:无痛丶安全及可靠

1. 收集:
在准父母通知後的12小时内,我们有专人到达医院收取脐血,并妥善存放於保温箱内,再直接由专车送往实验室处理及作永久低温储存。

2. 核对资料:
脐带血送回Cryolife的实验室後,会再次核对脐血样本的身份证明资料,以确保无误,然後编上唯一的ID码,作为隐私保护的一部分。

3. 化验脐血
在处理脐血前,我们会先抽取一小份样本连同母血作传染性病毒测试及血型测试用途。这是美国血库协会(AABB)相关要求的一部分,以确保存储的干细胞适合将来的移植。

4. 自动化脐血处理:
采用AXP (AutoXpressTM Platform)自动化细胞恢复系统,去除脐血样本内大部份的红血球及血浆,保留脐带血中的干细胞。自动化细胞处理系统提供一个完全密封的无菌环境,并能提高从脐血中回收到的单核细胞(MNC)数量。

5. 低温控速冷冻及储存:
经处理後,将向处理过的脐带血单元添加冷冻保护剂,之後即可进行永久低温储存。为确保永久储存干细胞的品质及活性,将以控制速率对脐血干细胞进行温度缓降,直至-90°C,再将脐血干细胞转入-185°C或以下的气态液氮储存缸作永久储存。美国血库协会(AABB)的指引是储存於-150°C或以下。

6. 持续的品质保证:
CRYOLIFE每年进行两次(一年两次)品质保证程序,以确保对每个储存缸中冷冻保存的脐带血单元的品质进行监控。品质保证测试过程和结果由来自ISO丶香港Q-Mark及AABB的第三方审核员随机审核及验证。所有的结果均已被制成表格并公开发表在CRYOLIFE的时事通讯及网站上。